It’s the Little Things

While studying abroad it’s very easy to get swept up in the idea of trying to go anywhere and everywhere. It’s a very appealing idea, especially when traveling within the EU is pretty cheap and easy. And I encourage everyone to go and explore! But I also encourage everyone to look closer and explore what’s around you.

Don’t get me wrong, going to London for a weekend to see The Phantom of the Opera at Her Majesty’s Theatre has to be one of my favorite experiences so far. But I also have so much to do here in Paris that it would be a crime to spend all my free time traveling somewhere else. Especially when I have a growing list of places I want to see/things I want to do.

With this in mind, my goal is to be part tourist and part local for the rest of my time in Paris. I have one week left of my internship and a little time after that to explore. I won’t get to everything, but I know what I’m looking for: here and there I’ll go to bigger attractions like the Louvre and Pompidou, but mostly I want to find the smaller museums and cafés in the nooks and crannies of Paris.

Hopefully I’ll find time after my visit to make a compilation of these small adventures and maybe that will help someone else plan their next trip to Paris. That’s all I can hope for at least.

I’m just trying to remember that while I live in this big, awe inspiring city, there are always little things that make me happy. And maybe you’ll find me tucked away in a little café drinking a café crème surrounded by book or enjoying the finest French cuisine in a  petit brasserie. And then maybe you’ll catch me taking a selfie with the Mona Lisa or enjoying a bottle of wine while the Tour Eiffel illuminates Champ de Mars.

Je ne sais pas, mais, peut être.

Leave a Reply

