Book it and Go

This weekend a group of five made an impromptu flight purchase to Prague. That’s right. Prague, Czech Republic. In just a short plane ride from Paris five Americans explored a new city in a new country for a weekend. And we’ll never forget it!

This post is less about Prague, and more about the idea of saying “why not?” more often and going on adventures is one of the best things you can do for yourself. It doesn’t have to be flying to another country of course, but what about that part of town you’ve never been to? the campsite you’ve been wanting to check out even though you’ve never been camping? the cooking class you’ve been thinking about but never gone to?

For a few years now I’ve been applying this “why not?” policy to my life (so long as whatever was being suggested wasn’t illegal and outside of my moral bounds), but have said it much less than I’ve meant to. Even though each time I shrugged and said “why not?” I never doubted that I made the right decision.

Same goes for this last minute trip to Prague. Though it’s a place I’ve always wanted to visit I never thought I would be planning my trip just a few days before boarding the plane. We didn’t even know what we wanted to do when we got there other than see what there is to see and enjoy the nightlife.

The day before we left I found a few Top 10 Things to do/see list on Google and I think we checked off almost everything from that list even though we didn’t have a tight plan. We wandered around Prague and explored the sights constantly remarking on the beauty of the city. My weekend in Prague is one of the best weekends of my life. And it was all because of a last minute decision.

To put two clichés together: Not all who wander are lost, because adventure is out there.

I used to avoid saying those two clichés because they seemed to be overused that they no longer held meaning. They felt more like a fad. They were merely the slogan on someone’s bumper. But after this past weekend (and my experience in France so far) I see how true the two statements are.

Adventure is out there, so wander around and take advantage of those chances of a lifetime. Who knows when I’ll be in Prague again. Although, I know I’ll go back eventually. And who knows where else I’ll end up! All I know is I want to be living life in such a way that it spills over with spontaneity and adventure. And after the success of this weekend I’m completely ready to jump in head first to the next thing that comes my way.

Leave a Reply

